Select State
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Latest News

Brisbane XC Series wraps up for 2017

Sunday, 18 June 2017 | Queensland Athletics



The inaugural Brisbane Cross Country Series finished up last weekend out at Richlands in what was a hard-fought muddy slog for the athletes. The 7th and final race of the series coincided with the QA 8km cross country championships, including the Fox-Fogarty Cup.

Full Results - Race 7

The athlete point score for the series has now been finalised with age champions listed below.

Under 8s

Courtney Marston proved consistent running the key for taking out the youngest age division on offer, finishing now worse than 5th in all 7 events offered. In the boys race, Leonardo Stephen finished the season with a substantial 49 point lead to take the series win.

Under 10s

Emily Gallagher may have missed the first of the series, but her streak of top 3 places lead to a 16 point series win for the youngster. Even tighter was the boys division, as Oliver Masters used 4 first place finishes in all 4 of his starts in the series to take a 3 point victory.

Under 12s

In the U12s division, Maddelyn Marston dominated the field, almost doubling her nearest rival finishing the season on 163 points. The boys series was tied up until the weekend, where a first place finish for Cooper Beachy-Head gave him the series win.

Under 14s

Missing the last race of the series didn’t worry Bridget McCormack as she held onto her lead going into the weekend and took the series by a 19 point margin. Dylan Devine only missed one race, but that didn’t phase him, as his 4 victories and 2 second places secured him the title.

Under 16s

Alex Davies scored the highest total of all the age groups, finishing the season on 197 points. In the girls division, Annabel Nipperess finished the season strongly, coming top 3 in the last 4 weeks of competition to capture the win.

Short Course

Jenny Reedman took the W in the women’s category by 29 points, whilst in the Men’s race, Richard Flack won race 7 to also win by 29 points.

Medium Course

Eddie Cootes’ consistent running through-out the series brought him victory at the end by 22 points whilst Roisin O’Dwyer-Mazur took the women’s with a constant presence from day 1.

Long Course

Meryll Fletcher cracked the 100 point mark with the final race grabbing 9 points to take the series win with a total of 104 points. Patrick Stormon  grabbed 3 wins across the series, and snagged 13 points, to take a final 31 point victory and secure the title.


Congratulations to all the athletes across the series and thank you for participating and giving it your all over the 7 weeks of competition. 

Age group winners should contact Queensland Athletics for prize information.